You are not logged in.

#1 2016-10-21 13:57

bin

32 bit compared with 64 bit - some surpises

I've been using 64 bit linux for a few years and had found that there was a substantial difference in feel between the two on Ubuntu based distros.

Taking a look at my most used progs I realise that in most cases I am actually running 32 bit apps on a 64 bit system - Darktable is the only seriously 64 bit need. Of the Wine apps I use one is 32 bit only, one is either and so they're quite happy. On the office front I've had so much trouble with both LibreOffice and WPS working with complex docx files from various sources that I'm moving over to Softmaker which just does what I need. That's also 32 bit right now.

So, I decided to load up a spare drive with Orion 32 bit and see what happened.

I must admit to being quite surprised by just how slick it all is. No really noticeable lag and in some cases things seem to be faster then 64 bit - and that's on a normal hard drive rather than SSD.

The only slight downside I've found is that the cooling fan is running almost continually rather than cutting in and out which it does on 64 bit.

Temps are at 44C so it ain't hot - but then this is something I've had off and on with this machine with various linux distros.

Other than that - I may even use 32 bit as main machine for a while.... smile

#2 2016-10-21 17:09

Dai_trying

Re: 32 bit compared with 64 bit - some surpises

It has been said before that 32 bit OS's seem to perform as well if not better on 64 bit hardware, I generally use like for like matching , but there is always the exception. Did you notice a decrease in the amount of ram required too? that is one thing I have noticed between 32/64 bit installs, sometimes it can be around double.