You are not logged in.

#1 2023-08-26 18:48

NYdell

Can’t connect to wifi dell D610

I’m fairly new to Linux and this is my first time trying Q4os. I have a dell latitude d610 laptop that I’ve installed 32bit Q4os on and I’m unable to connect to wifi.

It has Broadcom 4318 [Airforce 54g] 802.11a/b/g PCI express with driver b43-pci-bridge installed. I connected through Ethernet and downloaded network manager from the software center.

I’m able to connect through Ethernet but this is a laptop and I need to connect wirelessly. My 5g network doesn’t even show up in activate a connection in nmtui. When I try to connect to my separate 2.4g network it doesn’t like my password. I will type it in correctly, it tries to connect, and then will ask me for the password again. It does this if I use WPA/WPA2 or WPA2 security. If I remove the password from the network completely. I receive an error stating “could not activate connection: activation failed: IP configuration could not be reserved (no available address, time-out, etc.)

Does anyone know what I’m missing to get wifi working here? Thanks in advance for the help!

#2 2023-08-26 19:13

Rademes

Re: Can’t connect to wifi dell D610

Please read carefully this topic: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=4594
The topic starter has similar problem like you. Even the WiFi adapter is the same:
Device-2: Broadcom BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN
    vendor: Dell driver: b43-pci-bridge v: N/A bus-ID: 02:03.0

This solution helped him: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.ph … 143#p25143
Also, these topics may help you:
https://askubuntu.com/questions/339097/ … ot-connect
https://askubuntu.com/questions/55868/i … ss-drivers

Last edited by Rademes (2023-08-26 19:15)

Before asking for help please read this topic: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502   If you have problems with WiFi network, try to install the Network Manager using Q4OS Software Centre.

#3 2023-08-26 20:12

NYdell