You are not logged in.

#1 2019-05-30 06:33

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 710

Kmix slider ignores volume changes from mouse wheel or pavucontrol

This is a minor irritant - but with everything else working well it is annoying.

System:    Host: flopsy Kernel: 4.19.0-5-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Trinity R14.0.6
           Distro: Q4OS 3.6.2-n1
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: Acer model: Aspire X3995 serial: <root required>
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: P11-A3 date: 10/29/2012
CPU:       Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i3-3220 bits: 64 type: MT MCP
           L2 cache: 3072 KiB
           Speed: 1596 MHz min/max: 1600/3300 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1596 2: 1597 3: 1595
           4: 1600
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics driver: i915
           v: kernel
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.3 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
           resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Desktop v: 4.2 Mesa 18.3.4
Audio:     Device-1: Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.0-5-amd64
Network:   Device-1: Intel 82579V Gigabit Network driver: e1000e
           IF: enp0s25 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: f8:0f:41:6d:d7:c0
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 316.73 GiB used: 77.28 GiB (24.4%)
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Corsair model: Force GT size: 83.85 GiB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Seagate model: ST9250827AS size: 232.89 GiB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 10.51 GiB used: 3.35 GiB (31.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 1000.0 MiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb5
Sensors:   Missing: Required tool sensors not installed. Check --recommends
Info:      Processes: 139 Uptime: 45m Memory: 3.73 GiB used: 823.0 MiB (21.6%) Shell: bash
           inxi: 3.0.32
 

Sound comes via speakers on HDMI monitor - no problem.
Volume changes if you use the mouse wheel - pop up shows % - all good.
Volume changes if you use the Kmix slider
Volume changes if you use the volume control in pavucontrol

However - unless you use the Kmix slider to change volume, it doesn't move.
Inputs from either mousewheel or pavucontrol - whilst changing the volume - do not affect the slider.

All settings seem to be correct for Pulseaudio and Master Channel

Open the mixer from Kmix and move the Master Channel slider to 100% - volume changes but Kmix slider does not.

This is across Scorpion and Centaurus - it is a really minor point, and only seems to affect my machine with the HDMI speakers - laptops behave as expected. Pavucontrol >Configuration shows Digital Stereo HDMI output

I guess it's a pretty small issue but would appreciate any suggestions.

Offline

#2 2019-06-01 07:20

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 710

Re: Kmix slider ignores volume changes from mouse wheel or pavucontrol

Well, the plot thickens.

After installing WINE the connection between Kmix and Pulse gets lost Kmix reverts to ALSA only.
Copy back in kmixrc backup and it is possible to select Pulseaudio - but next reboot it gets overwritten and reverts to ALSA.

Reinstall all sound components - disable, enable sound etc etc but to reliable avail.

Long story sideways - installed my old friend pasystray and removed kmix from Autostart.

Result I have working audio again - OK no pretty slider on icon but mouse wheel control works and that's better than no sound at all.

Offline

#3 2019-06-01 09:06

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,481
Website

Re: Kmix slider ignores volume changes from mouse wheel or pavucontrol

bin wrote:

.. Kmix reverts to ALSA only...

It's possible to select and save PA channel as default for Kmix > right click on the kmix icon in systray > select master channel > select current mixer > pulseaudio

Offline

#4 2019-06-01 09:43

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 710

Re: Kmix slider ignores volume changes from mouse wheel or pavucontrol

The option to select Pulseaudio is no longer there in kmix.

If I run pasystray and then manually start kmix, the option is there and can be selected.

If I then remove pasystray from /etc/xdg/autostart and allow kmix to autostart on reboot we are back to square one - no Pulse in kmix.

Booting off live media all is OK. After straight install it works but the system sounds do seem to lag slightly.

Somewhere along the line - and I'm pretty sure it was after WINE install the issue with kmix/pulse appears.

Offline

#5 2019-06-01 09:54

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,481
Website

Re: Kmix slider ignores volume changes from mouse wheel or pavucontrol

Thanks, we will try to reproduce and investigate that. We will post back as soon as a new findings becomes available.

Offline

#6 2019-06-01 10:18

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 710

Re: Kmix slider ignores volume changes from mouse wheel or pavucontrol

Thank you - I have not experienced the loss of sound control on Scorpion - OK the kmix slider doesn't work, but at least Scorpion Kmix still sees Pulse. WINE is installed on Scorpion

Offline

#7 2019-07-14 11:35

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 710

Re: Kmix slider ignores volume changes from mouse wheel or pavucontrol

Under Centaurus what seems to be happening is that on first login (automatic login) pulse fails to start - .xsession-errors shows

ALSA lib pulse.c:243:(pulse_connect) PulseAudio: Unable to connect: Connection refused

This also appears at the end of the same .xession-errors if system sounds are enabled

[artsd] There are already artsd objects registered, looking if they are active...

[artsd] Error: Can't add object reference (probably artsd is already running).
       If you are sure it is not already running, remove the relevant files:

       /tmp/tdesocket-robin/Arts_SoundServerV2
       /tmp/tdesocket-robin/Arts_SoundServer
       /tmp/tdesocket-robin/Arts_SimpleSoundServer
       /tmp/tdesocket-robin/Arts_PlayObjectFactory
       /tmp/tdesocket-robin/Arts_AudioManager

The kmix slider/properties channel chooser only shows ALSA - no PULSE

Log out and back in and all is as it should be - OK the slider still doesn't work but scroll wheel gives volume.

Probably need to put in something to restart pulse after login.

Offline

#8 2019-07-16 18:15

Rademes
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 400

Re: Kmix slider ignores volume changes from mouse wheel or pavucontrol

I have the same issue. I can not change Pulse audio Master channel volume, using mouse wheel.
Using mouse wheel I can only change HDA Intel PCH Master channel volume.
Any suggestions, how I can configure mouse wheel to change Pulse audio Master channel volume?

Offline

#9 2019-07-17 00:05

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,746
Website

Re: Kmix slider ignores volume changes from mouse wheel or pavucontrol

Rademes wrote:

Any suggestions, how I can configure mouse wheel to change Pulse audio Master channel volume?

Can you right click the kmix applet and choose "Select Master Channel" and then select the preferred channel for volume control, after accepting this you should have volume working from kmix slider and scroll wheel while hovering the volume icon.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB